James Polmear – VCE English, Environmental Science, Biology and Mathematical Methods Tutor

Key qualifications and details:

Hi, I’m James Polmear and I graduated from Scotch College in 2014 with an ATAR of 99.35 and in 2015 was admitted to Monash University to study Medicine.

With previous tutoring experience throughout 2015, I am offering tutoring in 2016 for VCE Biology, Mathematical Methods, Environmental Science and English (only Language analysis/essay marking).

I tailor my classes to suit the individual student to ensure I am being of the greatest benefit, and very happy to be flexible with timing and to work on what areas the student desires and needs the most. To make sure this is accomplished I take the time when I first meet the student to assess the what they want, their ability levels and overall aims of what they want to get out of my sessions and VCE in general. I have access to numerous practise materials when it comes to exam time, and also very happy to schedule in additional sessions if needed. Lastly I encourage all my students to shoot me a message should they require assistance outside of class time.

I understand that VCE is a stressful and challenging time and will do my best to help my students, whether it be through tutoring or just chatting about what they have going on in their lives outside of the sessions.

Additionally I am currently in my second year of studying Medicine at Monash University having achieved a UMAT score in the 99th percentile and as such am also happy to make some UMAT tutoring part of my lessons, and am also able to give tips about the interview should any of you be aiming for that course.

I look forward to potentially hearing from you, the best of luck and have a great 2016! 🙂

Rates, location and scores

The subjects I tutor are Biology (45), Mathematical Methods (41, lots of tutoring experience for methods), Environmental Science (47), English (47, only Language Analysis/essay marking), and I can also offer additional help with UMAT preparation (99th percentile) and preparation for the interview for Medicine at Monash University.

The places I tutor are close to the Glen Iris area (so Camberwell, Burwood, Hawthorn, Kew etc, depends on specific location). Very happy to tutor at my house in Glen Iris as I have a good setup for tutoring, otherwise I am also able to travel to places that are not too distant, including the Camberwell library.

I charge $40 per hour for one on one sessions.

Interested in hiring James as your tutor? Register your interest for 1-on-1 tutoring here!